Secondary Public Offering: thru integral calculus

As promised last week, here is the newest version of Active Calculus, now with four additional chapters that can be used for the second semester of university calculus.

The link above is to the full text, all of chapters 1-8, as a Google document that should be embedded in your browser.  From the new Active Calculus download page on my GVSU faculty website, you can find links to this file, as well as to just chapters 1-4, or to just the activities workbook for either the whole text or just chapters 1-4; in addition, there you can also find links that will allow to directly download the .pdf version of any file, rather than viewing it as a Google doc.

If you are interested in some sort of other custom arrangement of the files, please contact me at boelkinm at gvsu dot edu.

A couple of other notes:

  • You’ll observe that Section 6.6 on Probability is not yet included.  I will be working on this section early in 2013 and expect to post it by early February as an addendum.  At the end of winter semester, this section will get fully incorporated into the latest version.
  • We do not yet have hints or answers for the activities in chapters 5-8.  Working towards the January 1, 2013, deadline made us focus on getting the exposition finished, so hints and solutions will have to follow later.  The same is true for most of the exercises throughout the text.  (If you are interested in the hints or solutions to activities in chapters 1-4, please contact me directly.)
  • Again, my deep thanks to David Austin and Steve Schlicker for each contributing a chapter (David on Differential Equations, Steve on Sequences and Series).

If you will be using any part of Active Calculus in your classes this winter, I would appreciate hearing from you about how you plan to do so.

5 comments

  1. François · · Reply

    Hi Matt, Thanks for the update. I can’t find the link to the new chapters though…
    Happy New Year to you!

  2. The link is there now. I erroneously set the “to publish” time before I was able to add the link.

  3. My college is attempting to move our calculus courses to open source and we have your text on our short list. Will you be working on Multivariable Calculus?

    1. Yes, I am interested in adding multivariable calculus to the text (and ultimately planning to do so). Looking at my other obligations, and the editorial work that the differential and integral material is begging, I’m guessing that July 2014 would be the earliest I could promise to have multivariable material. Feel free to contact me directly at boelkinm at gvsu dot edu to talk more about this.

  4. I’ve just discovered your blog and resources and I am really impressed by them! I’m studying abroad my senior year, and this is incredibly useful to me as I am learning calculus without any class. Your text is very clear and presents concepts that were previously confusing to me in an understandable manner. Thank you so much!

Leave a Reply

